Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions shape students futures, its their responsibility to help students not to opt study fields in which they are unlikely to succeed. For students, schools and colleges are the first place to understand their interests. Courses which they study in schools give them exposure to the fields available for career. Then they start getting interest in particular field which they want to pursue. At that moment educational institutions come into picture to help students to recognize their ability to choose field of study, to prevent them from wasting time on courses which they might not succeed.

As students spend much of their learning time at educational institutions, these institutions can help them understand their interests. For example, if a student is not getting good score in some course or not showing much interest learning it, then it might not be for him/her. Educational institutions can arrange workshops or fields trips where students can get hands on experience, which will help them to better understand their career goals. Sometime students get fascinated by the outside world, for example, fields in earning is more, but not interested in learning the subject deeply. This fascination might be short term, and they might loose interest after sometime, but they may end up wasting time by taking courses related that field. Here teachers or career fairs at colleges can help students to get into the field of their choice.

Almost all the higher educational institutions have counseling available, which can explain students well what are the study fields suitable for them and courses they have to take. If students get counseling from a qualified personal, it will help him/her to prevent from pursuing a field which is not for them.

As on educational institutions students majorly rely to shape their career. Courses, workshops, or counseling at these institutes can have big impact to students to choose their career, so its the responsibility of these institutions to help students to pursue them to choose study fields which fits best with their interest.