Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutes have the responsibility of grooming their students and making sure that students are ready to face problems encountered in the real world on a daily basis. Schools and Colleges measure the abilities of their students through a host of different criterion which can vary from institute to institute and predict the likelihood of their students succeeding in their fields. That being said, educational institutions should steer clear of trying to dissuade students, who from the institution's perspective, are likely to fail in their respective fields.

Educational institutes around the globe have adopted a standard way of judging students in different fields. While marking criterion differ from institute to institute, almost every institute differentiates it's students through a rigorous grading criteria. Through this grading system, different institutes measure a student's ability in their respective field. But there are a host of other factors that vary from institute to institute. For example since teaching quality can vary across different institutes, students on the receiving end of poor teaching methods may become disillusioned with their fields and completely loose interest in their subjects leading to poor grades. So it would be an inaccurate assessment on the part of the institute if they were to judge that the student is less likely to succeed in his or her field. Another important factor is that many students respond well to a more pragmatic approach towards their fields rather than a theoretical one. Students may show a lack of interest in classes but may become more involved in the field when they encounter real life problems thus increasing their chances of success.

On the other hand, one can argue that even if students are passionate about their fields, it doesn't mean that the student is more likely to succeed in the field of study. Yes the student may ultimately benefit if the institution decided to dissuade the student from carrying on in a field in which he or she is less likely to succeed, but if students are passionate about their respective fields of study then it would not be fruitful for them to pursue an alternative field based on the judgment of the institute whose sole criterion maybe relative grading.

Ultimately it must be the student who decides whether he or she is fit for a certain field of study and there should be minimal interference from the educational institute regarding the future of the student.