Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is popularly believed that educational institutions ought to actively motivate students to pursue degree in fields in which jobs are plentiful. Although, I can see advantages of proposed policy, I cannot concur with the claim because of the reasons which will be discussed in details below.

To begin with, in contemporary society we often decide to pursue a degree because we want to improve our financial situation; in other words, we hope that an acquired qualification will enhance our income. From this viewpoint, the proposed policy seems to be reasonable. For the sake of illustration we may imagine a student who was granted a degree at acting and who cannot find a job, in this case, a person may face serious hardships because the one, perhaps, has a student loan which should be paid back and needs money to pay rent and buy food. In fact, this situation is a disaster and no one wants to be at such a conundrum.

However, this view on the advantage of the policy is based on unsupported assumption that the jobs in the fields which are recommended by educators will be well-paid. At the same time, the probability exists that this plethora of jobs is ill-paid and student who, perhaps, might have chosen a well-paid but rare specialization will have to work for a miser amount of money which may not be sufficient to satisfy one's needs such paying debt or sustain decent conditions of living. Consequently, if the assumption on which the prompt is based mistaken, the policy will lose its main merit.

Furthermore, the second negative aftermath of the realization of the policy is that it completely neglects students' inclinations and interests. To illustrate the idea we may imagine, a person, who gifted at precise sciences such as math and physics who, perhaps, is capable of advancing our knowledge about the universe and the world, may be dissuaded from pursuing this career because only a small number of job is available in the field. As a result of the implementation of the proposal we may have professionals who are not interested in their work, who perhaps, hate his or her profession and even if they are professionals who do their jobs well, they may have depressions and other psychological problems which significantly undermine their health.

Finally, the last problem of the policy derives from the fact that contemporary world is constantly changing. From this viewpoint, it is difficult to predict precisely which professions will be in demand in the future. For instance, almost no one was able to predict that a huge number of software engineers, programmers and coders will be needed at the 1990s. Similarly, today we hardly can foresee future demand in professionals, for instance, some scientists believe that at the nearest future such profession as accountant will be extinct because of the development of AI technologies, at the same time, today this profession is believed to be promising.

In conclusion, although the claim seems to be attractive at the first glance, closer look at it reveals some grave problems which dramatically undermine our belief in usefulness of the proposal, consequently, I disagree with the claim.