Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Educational institutions are the pivotal factor, which define the future of the students. These institutes not only provide knowledge of specific field but open up the mind of the students by providing opportunities in various fields. Students are always in debt of their Alma matter for providing platform for kick starting their career. Speaker contends that educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose the course that will prepare them for lucrative careers. I disagree with author. In my opinion, educational institutions should guide the students in making decision regarding their future, but actively encouraging students to choose the field with lucrative job is little extreme to support.

First, how educational institutions decide which field of study will provide lucrative job is a big question. It is not necessary that the field that currently provides big job with big money will continue to do so. What if after 5 or 10 years, trend in the market change and job market orientation shifts to different direction? So university cannot suggest with surety that jobs in the particular field will provide lucrative compensation for the whole life.

Further, it is crucial that student study in a field in which he or she is interested. Assuming any how students enter in the industry having job with good money at the expense of the interest, they will not be satisfied with the work. They will not be motivated to do any research or any further study in that field, which eventually diminish the efficacy. Suggesting a student who is interesting in painting to study a medicine is two way losses for the society; society will lose good painter and have bad doctor.

On the contrary, one can argue that students are naïve and do not have exposer of the corporate world so that intervention of the institute is important. Agree, institution should intervene, but they should guide student to select the field they are interested and provide resources and opportunities to excel in their respective interested fields. Because excellence in any field will make students to survive in the corporate world in any situations, even after wind of trend in the market changes its direction.