Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supp

Students should have the freedom to choose, and explore fields of study that are appealing to them. Thus, the role of educational institutions is to train students in fields of their choice, and not actively encourage them to choose fields on the basis of opportunities at lucrative careers. The reasons for these views are as follows: having a lucrative career depends on the individual, and not the field of study; also, changes in government policies and economic stability may render these so called lucrative jobs unavailable.

First, and foremost, such a statement creates the notion that some fields of study do not lead students to lucrative careers. Having a successful career depends on the student, what the student makes of the field, and how the student effectively applies learning in the classroom to the real world. There are numerous lucrative areas available within any field of study. For instance, in Nigerian universities, there is a cachet placed on courses like medicine, engineering, and law. However, agricultural students are viewed ludicrously, but many of them are able to start lucrative poultry, and fish rearing businesses before their counterparts get jobs.

Furthermore, the continuous availability of these so called lucrative jobs or careers in particular fields of study is not certain. Changes in government policies and economic stability may reduce the presence of these jobs. For example, the effect of the economic recession in countries like Greece, and Portugal has been a lack of jobs, even high paying jobs. In addition, in the Nigerian banking sector, the apex bank implemented a recapitalization policy for banks, these lead to bankers taking pay-cuts and in other cases been let go. Thus, a banking sector once considered lucrative is now less benign.

Opponents against my idea argue that educators are helping students make the right decisions for their future careers. However, students should make the decision of what kind of career paths or options they plan to take; if they fancy careers in academic research or want to be lawyers that take pro bono cases or work in the oil industry, it is their choice, a career choice should be one were an individual feels fulfilled.

Conclusively, lucrative opportunities are inherent in all fields of study, educators should help students meet their aspirations and not advice them to take particular fields of study because the chances at lucrative careers in such areas are apparent.