Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

I am a firm believer of the argument that people should chose their field of study according to their interest. They should study what they like rather than what promises a lucrative job. In that sense, I also believe that universities should not dictate students to choose particular fields of study just because of abundance of jobs.

If people pursue only those fields where jobs are plentiful and monetarily rewarding, there would be many jobs which would people would not chose to do because they are not rewarding. If those jobs are contributive to the society, the society will suffer because of the lack of manpower in those areas. Therefore, a university should be able to persuade students to be open minded so that various people would have various occupation and there would not be a paucity of manpower in necessary fields. Now, questions may rise on whether it should be the responsibility of the university to ensure its students get good placement and get a rewarding salary. However, the university also has a responsibility towards the society. Because many students would already choose a lucrative field of study, the ones who are not yet moved by financial gain should not be persuaded to only study financially rewarding subjects as they would be the ones to fill in those vacant positions for those necessary but less lucrative occupations.

Further, there will be many students who attend a university for the sole purpose of gaining knowledge. If the university only promotes specific subjects, those students who are trying to expand their knowledge rather than seeking to get a job will be marginalized. Supporters of the statement above might contend that as majority of the students attend universities to become qualified for a job, job placement should be the primary focus of the university. I disagree with this argument because if broad knowledge is promoted and quality education is provided, students will be able to apply the knowledge in whatever field they work in. In that case, the students seeking jobs will get job placement while the students seeking knowledge too will gain knowledge. By doing so the situation of suppressing a minority for the interest of a majority can be avoided.

At length, universities have responsibility towards the society and towards every student that attends the university. The society requires people to pursue a variety of vocations. In addition, each individual student has different expectations from the university. If a university focuses only on particular fields of study, it cannot do justice to the society and to many of its students. By providing unbiased quality education to all, the university can produce graduates who can excel in whatever they pursue and will also be contributive to the society.