Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study prepare them for lucrative careers.

Educational institutions should not actively encourage their students to choose fields of study prepare them for lucrative careers. The essence of education is to teach students to think for themselves. They should inform students in adequate amount and leave the decision for themselves, but they can’t maneuver the information and mislead students. Disturbing someone else’s future plan is generally immoral, especially for educational institute. In addition, this statement underlying that there is someone or a committee who are omniscient or infallible that they are able to decide which careers are more valuable than the others, but there are no such person or committee that knows everything. In addition, we know the industry is changing all the time, what if the careers which the institutions suggest become atrophied.

The essence of education to teach student to learn or think for themselves. The educational institutions can offer them information of the industries, and leave students the deciding roles. In this way students will have a sense of varieties of industries, and on this basis, it is easier for them to dig out more information themselves whether to use Google or some other approaches. However, it is critically immoral and not liable for an educator to encourage students to choose certain kind of field, even if he or she does this out of their virtue. For educators, they are in responsibility to enlighten their students, and make them well-informed, but surely not to encourage or teach them to earn money. What if a student take the advise and enter certain job market, and turns out that he or she is not of any interest in this field? No one can determine what is suitable for others, only themselves can.

No one can evaluate which kind of knowledge is more valuable than others. It is possible to evaluate market value of an industry, but knowledge itself can not be determined. Can you say the value of knowledge about a volcano is less profitable than the value of medicine? Of course you can’t, even if the the volcano knowledge can’t really make any money in this time, but it might save great amount of lives and properties in the future. Therefor, if you can’t judge or predict which job market will be lucrative all the time, better not to give advise.

The encouragement might lead to a collective will that most people squeeze into the same occupation. Herd behavior tells us that the ship will follow whatever the leader ship do, if the leader ship drop from the cliff, the rest will just follow and result in collective suicide, meaning that under not well-informed situation, the rest of people will just follow what other people do, and create a sense of collective will to the same direction. If all students take the advise, and enter the same job market, the result would disastrous. Because the certain field of job market is limited, if more people are entering the same job market, lots of them might be surprised that the market is saturated and are not able to find any position. In addition, the revenue of a field has its limitation as well, if more people are in the same field, the revenue will be shared and result in devaluation of a certain job market making it not as profitable as usual.

To sum up, there are lots of reasons to oppose the statement. The primary one is that it violates the virtue of education, because it shouldn’t be its goal that education to teach students to be mercenary and it is also literally irresponsible for that himself or herself couldn’t assure its development in the future. Besides that, it is generally impossible to appraise the value of the knowledge or the careers in the future. Even if you do find a convincing reason, as more people entering that market, the market will be shared and making it less lucrative or setting higher barrier to enter a company.