Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The author comments that educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. I disagree with the contention and feel that the benefits of going into a field where one is unlikely to succeed is far outweighs that of the limitations.

This analysis is based on how one defines success. One may define success as the job and salary he receives after completing study in that field. Others may think it to be the recognition he gets. But most define success as achieving something in the field that no one has done before. It may result in both fame and money. When one is satisfied with the study and is happy to work on it he will strive to do better. As a result new things may be discovered which may help mankind. Choosing the field of study should be solely the work of the students rather than the institutions. Although the institution's and the parents's opinions play a major role the student should look within himself and try to understand which field of study makes him happy, curious and motivating enough to work his entire life on it.If he finds such a field he should go for it. In this day and age no field is lagging behind. There is scope for success but it may take time. One must be patient and strong enough to brave the ramifications. Only then he will achieve something.

However, those for agreeing with contention may have some views. Fields in which success is hard to find will take more time and luck. Sometimes hard work is not enough to achieve success. One of the major reasons for choosing a field of study is to get a job and provide for the family. The financial condition of the student may not be strong enough to wait for a long time to succeed. If the institutions say that a particular field is a difficult many won't tread on such a rigorous path. Most people want to go for something easy to get.

I feel that it may take time to achieve success in some cases but one should not give up. He should work hard and success will follow him. The financial condition plays an important role in one's life. The government should come into this. They should provide scholarships to students who choose to study in an uncommon field. Moving forward in every field of study for us is necessary. Going into a field that is difficult may be a challenge for some. Some may want to prove themselves and go against the norm. That may be their definition of success.

In a nutshell, the educational institution should not dissuade students to pursue a field in which success is hard to get. If the temple of learning themselves stop the learning in a particular field it would die and become obsolete. So, it is their duty to motivate students to go into the unknown and find the road to success. Only then will the human race transcend past their limitations and achieve new heights.