Educators should take students' interests into account when planning the content of the courses they teach.

Education is among the few building blocks that support the foundation of success. Teachers struggle at times at finding ways to assist their students in succeeding with their education. Many students themselves have a hard time grasping concepts in the content or are unable to devote their full attention. Students can benefit and learn much more from an educator that considers the students’ interest.

With planning content that incorporates the interest of students, teachers will observe an increase in grades and interest in learning. For example, younger students are more eager to read books if their teachers allow for learning to be fun, such as adding games or being physically active while reading. Younger students will not be aware that having fun is a way of learning and teaching content.

As students grow, content becomes more difficult and requires more focus. If the content relates more to an area of interest for students, then being able to direct attention to the task will not require much effort. For example, many students find statistics to be challenging and dry. When learning statistics myself, I learned best when my professor made the content easier to understand with terms that were easier to comprehend. Then the professor would help in generalizing what I learned to the subject matter.

However, there are numerous subjects that teachers are unable to plan an interesting way of learning. Some schools even require that teachers educate students in a customary manner to meet educational standards. Students, however, may suffer because many students require a unique style of learning. By utilizing a student’s interest, educators can have an influential effect on their success in education.