Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Knowledge is wisdom, and in today’s modern world wisdom is available and gathered through a systematic way of approach which is termed as Education system. Education system mainly consists of Educators - who are nothing but the teachers, advisers from our school and university, the academic curriculum, the educational material, evaluation process and of course, the students. There has been observed many debates and questioned has been rose pointing out to the efficiency of the Education system. And one of them is what the author here has mentioned. He criticizes the role of the educators in the modern education system and focuses on the sequence of the teaching of facts, the ideas, trends and its concepts. Even though the author’s statement of teaching the facts after the students have studied about the facts and concepts, seems forthright, failure to understand the intrinsic meaning may easily mislead a person. Before drawing any hasty conclusion, I would like to present my understanding regarding this matter.

‘Roger Lewin’, a British prize winning science writer and author of 20 books, once said “Too often children are given answers to remember than problems to solve”. Certainly, this applies perfectly to the current education process situation, which is not suitable for the progress of human kind. It is commonly observed that children or sophomores are unable to grasp the concepts that are taught in the classrooms. This leading to the publications and use of prescribed books, textbooks, and notes containing ample of facts, important historic date, scientific and mathematical formulae and so on. Students who have no idea about the reasons and derivations of the syllabus opt to mug up. Their only motive for learning becomes passing the academics with good grades. This is nothing but rote learning and leading to having knowledge with a hole.

On the contrary, the students who are well cognitive about the basic ideas, reasons and the overall concepts on the derivations of the subjects, becomes fully equipped to answer any related theory that is out of their academic world – which is again a growing pre requisite of the today’s world. Take for an example, a student who has mastered the structure engineering; she/he would easily be able to solve any kind of trickiest strange question that might be asked in a competitive exam. Moreover, this student during his future career would be able to provide realistic solutions lucidly giving illustrations to others, thereby imparting his/her intellect in a manner that is efficacious. Thus, teaching the concepts, ideas and trends along with the facts would help generate geniuses who can not only grasp the roots of the phenomenon but also in future can deliver it to the world. Besides, the fact that earlier inventors and discoverers did not use definite formulas or theorems to find answers about the universe. They simply applied their ideas, wisdom and intellect, formulated empirical equations and took years of pondering to come up with a finding. And hence, it is necessary to help students to understand the facts with deeper concepts to understand be master in the desired subject.

In conclusion, it is essential that the educators recognize and implement the facts by way of concepts, ideas and trends, so as to create dynamic students. It is universal truth that mere rote learning or incomplete learning would lead to stagnation in that field. Hence, given these reasons, educators should strive to complement education and wisdom by teaching ideas and concepts along with the facts to produce successful students.