The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Leaders' strategies especially their programs can essentially affect people’s lives. Therefore, in my opinion, evaluating of residents' life condition is a good way to measure the efficacy of countries' leaders for the following reasons.

First, for a country with effective leaders, people have more healthful lives. The health condition of a country's residents can directly affected by its leaders’ programs. For example, passing a law in congress that teach people about the harmful effects of high fat foods or that limit the number of stores which sell fast foods results in lower number of fat people in a country. Therefore, the decisions of health leaders in a country could prevent many diseases like obesity.

Also, effective leaders in a country can plan such that people have a better life from an economic point of view. Economic condition of a country's citizens can be one of the best factors to measure the usefulness of leaders’ programs. Consider how a good leader can plan so that all children especially the poor ones being able to study in school. The number of children which give up education because of their family poor economic condition can be increased by an ineffective program performed by economic leaders in a country.

In contrast, there are some aspects like religious that leaders do not have much effect on residents in. Since, almost in any country, religious readers can just advise people about following a religion, their effect on people’s well-being is limited. Therefore, the citizens’ condition in such aspects cannot be the best measure of leaders’ effectiveness. For instance, many people in a Muslim country can be Christian even though there are really good leaders in Islam religion on that country.

In sum, assessing well-being condition of people is a good but not the best way to measure leaders' effectiveness because the leaders' effects on people can vary from one area to others completely.