The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

While some may argue that the effectiveness of a country’s leader is based on an examination of the well-being of the country’s citizens, others may contend that there are other metrics for the effectiveness of a leader. Such metrics could include, but are not limited to the leadership style, charisma of a leader, to mention a few. Therefore I agree with the statement; however we cannot but acknowledge the presence of other yardsticks or metrics of measuring the effectiveness of a leader.

Undoubtedly, if the citizens of a country are doing well during a particular leader’s administration, the citizens of the country will see such a leader as being an efficacious leader. For instance, during Obasanjo’s administration as the President of Nigeria, he was lauded for his ability to create more job opportunities, and improve the Nigerian economy generally. In addition to this, Nigerians considered the communities as being safer during his regime. Moreover, he was able to put Nigeria in the global economy by portraying Nigeria in a positive light. By contrast, the same cannot be said of Good luck Jonathan, because the economy was almost at a meltdown resulting in an economic depression. There was the insurgence of terrorism and kidnapping. In light of this, Nigerians would consider the former President Obasanjo an effective leader because of his ability to improve the well- being of the Nigerian Citizens.

However one cannot ignore the other factors and yardsticks that can be used to measure the effectiveness of a country’s leader. For instance the leadership style of a leader can be used to measure the effectiveness of a leader. A dictatorial leadership cannot be said to be an effective one because of the tendency for such a leader to impose his will on his citizens despite opposition from the citizens. The North Korea’s President has been accused of being an ineffective leader because he adopts a dictatorship style of government.

In conclusion, the effectiveness of a leader can be measured by the well-being of the citizens; however other factors and yardsticks exist in measuring the leader’s effectiveness.