The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.
A leader is a representative of a society who is elected by the people. A leader's responsibility is to listen to the demands
of the citizens, analyze as to what is required and fulfill them accordingly. It is the charisma and honesty towards its
work that prove its effectiveness. The effectiveness of the leadership can be measured by the success of the nation, the
employment opportunities but the best way is to examine the well-being of the citizens.
During elections, it is usually observed that the politicians are pitted against each other to gain votes from people.
They try to extract evidences from the past of the opposition to break the vote bank of the party. The leaders promise
its voters to bring joy and fulfill all the demands required. But often we see, the politicians right after they are
appointed run away from the promises and focus on their personal demands. What if the leader's are not concerned with the
well-being of the citizens? If the leaders are only concerned about their personal growth and forget about the promises
made to the citizens, it will only lead to an uproar and dissatisfaction among the people. Such leaders fail to give
recognition to the nation and the effectiveness of leadership droops down to zero.
Even if the leaders are concerned with nations success but at the cost of well-being of citizens, will it ensure the leader
is effective? This could lead to an imbalance. The nation's economy and it's relation with other countries might be
booming, but the nation is plagued with riots, poverty; low quality education and the basic needs not being listened to.
Such scenarios could affect the effectiveness of the leaders.
A leader is supposed to listen to the needs of every class and sections of the society. One of the best examples of
a strong leadership effectiveness is of M.K Gandhi. Gandhi took the responsibility of making sure India gets independence
and gave people the direction they needed. Along with the independence with non-violence, he erased the distinction of
class among people. He did not turn a blind eye towards the lower caste but made sure each and everyone's demand is
being fulfilled. He removed the concept of untouchability and gave an entirely new meaning to the society. Not only
he made an effort to contribute at national level but also he focused on things where common people were suffered.
Thus, the leaders are elected with the hope of bringing success to the society but not at the expense of welfare of the
people. The leaders are effective when the nation is progressing towards development and the well-being of the citizens
is ensured. But the true effectiveness can only be measured when there is peace and harmony among the citizens.