The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

The well-being of a country is contingent upon the situation in which people are happy, comfortable and healthy. All these specializes a country to be a decent place for living. Although it is important and necessary for a successful leader to provide the well-being for his/her society, it is not enough.

To begin with, the well-being of people is one the most important features that an effective leader can provide for the people. When people are well-fed, have decent incomes, live in a safe society, all are the signs of the well-being of a society. In such a society that many of the people’s concerns are met by the leaders and the government, individuals would not worry unduly and the people would have a more peaceful life.

However, the peaceful and enjoyable life provided by the well-being is not enough and other criteria also should be met by the leaders. First, a country needs achievements to ascribe effectiveness to its leaders. Artistic, political, scientific, and athletic achievements show that the leading part of the society makes ground for the talented people to show their excellence. By this approach, there would room also for the exceptionally talented people to manifest what they have got.

The final element needs for a leader to become effective is how much his/her country is led by human right values. It is possible that people have a happy life, but at the same time, such a well-being might have been provided by the toils of other people. Consider the Roman Empire. In Rome, both the achievements were frequent and the people were relatively happy in those times. However the slavery was rampant in the Roman Empire like the trees of an immense forest which overshadows all those achievements and the well-being of the people. Another case is the British Empire. No matter how much the English leaders served their nation, but they overfed their people by colonization of the other nations to the point of their starvation. Therefore the human rights also need to be observed by a leader.

In short, as discussed, besides the well-being of the people, there are two other main standards that should be observed by a country to name its leader as an effective one. The standards are providing grounds for the specially talented individuals and also observation of the human right by that country. The triumvirate elements together would make a leader recognized as an effective one.