Every individual in society has responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws

Imagine a life without laws - people not following the traffic signals, leading to accidents! Laws are imposed in with a purpose of bringing order to life. They might appear as an unnecessary in the face, but not having them can lead to catastrophic consequences.

There are laws related to pollution balance. The government has imposed certain laws for factories pertaining to the limits of harmful gases that can be released into the atmosphere. It is the responsibility of the factory owners to follow them. Not abiding by the laws can have detrimental effects on the neighboring societies. The effects can, in some cases, be fatal. Following the laws is necessary for the well being of the individual as well as the society.

However, the nature of laws is not always just. The laws related to reservations in government offices or colleges based on caste are not justified. Merit should be the factor to be taken into consideration for these things. Laws like these are unjust for the people who don’t have reservations and they are deprived of opportunities in spite of being talented. In India, there are seats reserved on the basis of caste. So a student with 95 marks but no reservation does not get admission, but a student with 80 marks but reservation gets admission. This is very unjust and should be resisted.

I completely agree with the author. The purpose of rules is to act as guidelines in life, not to hinder your progress. So people should follow the laws which are justified. At the same time they should raise their voices against the unjust laws.