The fact that technology is outpacing the needs of those in cultures that can afford the technology creates cultures of excess consumerism.

The expansive growth of Internet and penetration of technology in everyday lives has had a drastic impact on the lives of people. The technology has one side acted as an enabler empowering people with choices and on the other hand spun a sinister web where it cajoles people in impulsive consumerism. To understand whether technology has played more of a positive or a negative role in lives of consumers we need to understand both sides of the argument.

In earlier times when technology was limited to few people the masses were devoid of choices. As a consumer one was restricted to what was produced and sold locally. Advent of technology has given consumers option to choose from the comfort of their homes from amongst almost an infinite number of consumer durables and consumables. Whatever one needs is available to them at a moments notice. Amazon, Alibaba and Flipkart have started catering to the demands of consumers not only in urban but in rural areas. Life saving drugs and equipment’s are being made available ubiquitously at competitive pricing thanks to the technology. In light of these cases technology seems more of help than a promulgator of consumerism.

But, technology like any other medium is prone to exploitation. It cannot be ignored that technology has lead to increased level of consumerism also. The ease of availability of goods has reduced the difference between the needs and wants of an individual. Mobile companies bring out new versions of mobile phones every six months turning those bought few months back obsolete. We are all familiar with people queuing up days before the launch of new mobile phones. This can be attributed to the hype created by technology forcing people into impulsive consumerism. Also, this culture of excessive consumerism leads to wastage leading to harmful impact on the environment and pressure on depleting resources.

We encounter an ethical question in this argument. What is excessive consumerism? Is it defined as the act of people consuming more what they need? And if indeed that then who gets to decide what are the actual needs? Technology, I feel is only acting as an enabler and if someone prefers to purchase more goods than they can consume then it is a choice made by the individual and technology is not be blamed for it. I would not agree in entirety with the statement that technology promotes excessive consumerism. I believe it gives one choices and qouting reputed economist Dr. Amartya Sen, freedom is the choices one has technology has been a liberator for the cultures.