The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

The claim stated is that the initial step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar. In order to know more about yourself one must reject all the aspects that are familiar. According to me to claim stated is correct.

We should not base the understanding of ourselves solely on the past. Though it may seem familiar, but it will not lead to self growth.

Suppose we are given a problem to solve. To simplify our example we will take the problem to be a mathematical one. Initially we try to solve it using formulas that we know. This is where the problem starts. Our mind is so one dimensional that we think that the problem can we solved with something that we have already learnt. We forget to use new techniques. We keep thinking upon it for too long but still we are unable to find a solution. All we need is to use a distinct approach to solve the problem.

Take this situation, you have gone to a wedding and you cannot find a space to park your car. What will you do? Will you keep waiting for someone to remove their car in order to find solution to this. I have a friend who was faced with a similar situation. Instead of wasting his time, he went inside the hall, announced the number of a random car , and informed its driver to remove it as it was blocking the traffic.By using this new approach , he saved his time.

This is what is needed. If we keep thinking in one dimension only, we will get stuck in a labyrinth, a maze which is never ending.

Take for instance, Thomas Edison, the inventor of the light bulb. He failed 100 times to come with an invention which was so necessary. What would have happened if he kept thinking in just one direction. Eclectic knowledge is necessary. Edison kept on trying different trials to come with the invention of the bulb. What if he had given up? Would we still have light at night then?

I have learnt in my experience that you need to let go of the past. The past may be familiar and comfortable , but it will not let us grow. When i moved from school to college, I was not ready to let go. But by doing this I stopped myself from experiencing the new friendships that I could form or the new adventures that I could take upon. Soon i realised that in order to develop myself I have to reject the familiar. I need to keep challenging myself to know myself more. I have to push the boundaries.

Therefore to know yourself more, we have to shun the familiar.