The fist step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

The recommendation is quite true that the first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar. Indeed, it is true that we learn more from conflicting ideas and debate than from the ones who have similar knowledge and ideas of innovation. Also, people always learn from different people who have different ideas and skills.

Firstly, if all the people have same knowledge and ideas of thinking for a particular topic then the innovation or knowledge imparted with be quite less. But, if there are critics and the people who would cross question and are polemical to your ideas. It would mean that you would have to think from all the prospects of it and then the idea and innovation can be put forward. Additionally, this would increase your level of thinking and many more contrasting ideas which would be required for development can be established. For example, if there is any innovation being made then before bringing it to the market the prototype is tested by various people of different background so that if there are any problem associated with it that can be sorted out. Other example being in companies such as Intel where the Arithmetic Logic Unit and different silicon chips are simulated, it is always in the group of different people that the simulation is being done so that the unit which has less delay and high throughput is selected. Moreover, the main idea behind having separate groups is that as everyone is unique each and everyone has different way of thinking and coming up with new ideas. So, the groups have various algorithm and based on them the unit is developed and since there are different groups the one which has less delay and high throughput is selected only after they have explained it and the conflicting ideas are being resolved. However, if people would have similar knowledge and are quirk then the innovations would have been done with lots of inefficiencies and problems would have not been totally resolved.

Additionally, many Universities select students in their research and development department from various backgrounds and different areas so that the research would have varying ideas and the best one can be picked up. So, I would like to conclude that it is true that for ones betterment and knowledge one should always reject the people having familiar ideas.