The following advice was given to a politician by his political consultant:It is true that 200 apartment renters protested in the rain about the elimination of rent control regulation. However, there are 20,000 renters in the entire city. 19,800 of them s

The argument that the politician should ignore the protest of the two-hundred renters because it does not represent the opinion of renters throughout the city may sound logical at first, but an analysis of the political consultant's reasons for reaching this conclusion proves that more thorough evidence needs to be given before his conclusion can be considered logical.

Firstly, the political consultant considers the protest "small." Not exactly! Pay attention to the specific assertions. Two-hundred protesters in the rain, says the political consultant, does not demonstrate that there is a problem with the elimination of rent control. One is left to wonder, however, about the context of this protest in the city. If it's the first protest in two or three decades, then surely it is significant. But, if the city has protests often, then it may be disregarded. The size of the protest is also left without context. Two-hundred out of two thousand protesters may not sound like a lot, but, again, if it's the largest protest in the city's history, then two-hundred protesters is by no means "small." A brief context of the city's protesting history would add context to this protest, and could strengthen (or weaken) the consultants conclusion.

Another important point the political advisor made (but failed to support) is that two-hundred protesters doesn't

represent the whole opinion of the renters in the city. While two-hundred is indeed a small portion of twenty-thousand, it can't simply be written off as a minority opinion. It is possible that the end of rent control has only been recently made public, and many other renters do not know about the elimination yet. Also, the advisor fails to address the question of why the other renters didn't protest. He mentions it was raining, but he failed to mention that many of the renters were probably at work or school. The time of the protest is indeed very imporant. Was it on a Friday evening or a Wednesday afternoon? Also, the protest may have been in front of a government building, and most of the apartments could be on the other side of town, and attending a protest could have been impossible for the majority of renters. A few more details explaining why only two-hundred out of twenty-thousand renters protested could significantly strengthen (or, again, weaken) the argument!

Lastly, the political consultant mentions this one protest but fails to mention whether or not it was the only protest that has happened or is planned to happen in response to the elimination of rent control. If this protest is an isolated incident is can be taken more lightly than if it is a string of recent protests. The political consultant also fails to mention whether or not any other protesting activity has been taking place, such as petitions, written pamphlets, or media activity. Surely a protest is one way to express disconent, but it is by no means the only way. A deeper and more broad explanation of all activity in the town responding to the elimination of rent control would add perspective to the overall importance of the protest.

The political consultant has provided a conclusion that needs to be supported more thoroughly before it can be taken seriously or logically.