The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo suggests discontinuation of company’s patented Endure process used in manufacturing socks as durability is not in demand and it will increase profits. However, the claim relies on unwarranted assumptions, which if false, would undermine the validity of the claim.

Firstly, customers’ higher priority for style and color does not imply no priority to durability. People are already convinced about the durability of the socks through advertisements which tout the patented Endure process. When people purchase new pair of socks every three months, they do not necessarily get rid of the old pair. As the socks are already stylish and available in many colors, it could tempt the buyer to purchase different varieties. If the company was to stop the Endure process, people can complain about new non lasting and hence inferior, quality of socks, which they first took for granted.

Secondly, discontinuation of Endure manufacturing process does not translate into increased profits. The cost of purchasing new equipment for a new process needs to be considered. The difference between the prices and/or the profits may not be worth the change in process, that may involve buying new patent. Also, the assumption that sales will not be affected by this shift is unwarranted. Customers may be unsatisfied when they compare the new and old qualities of products and hence stop buying from this company. Moreover, the shift will adversely affect the good will of the company that has extensively advertised their products’ durability.

Also, the study that shows customer preference is not supported with statistics. The surveyed customers could be presented a questionnaire where they were asked to choose between fashionable and durable socks. However, if these people where to give priorities to durability and fashion, durability would be closer or just next to fashion. In addition, the details about the survey like the number of people who participated, number of different cities surveyed, number of men and women participants could be provided to strengthen the claim.

After a thorough and careful analysis we find that the claim rests on assumptions that have not been adequately justified. More details about the survey and cost analysis could be presented to leave no room for doubt about the conclusion from premises.