“The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

‘Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary.’

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

In the memorandum which was published here, the author suggest that construction of new generating plants is unnecessary act because the total demand of electricity may decrease slightly in this area. This conclusion was based on several assumption that are unproven. Actually, most of them are false ones, and so we can claim that the suggestion made about construction of new plants is an inaccurate proposal. In the following paragraphs, three conspicuous reasons regarding inaccuracy of these assumptions will cogently substantiate my claim.

The most noticeable problem regarding this claim is that writer of this memo allude to a study, but he or she does not offer more specific information about this study. For instance, he or she did not determined the number of homeowners who were investigated. As all of you know, for a study to be really reliable it must survey large number of cases, but here the number of case studies is not clear. Maybe the study was done, using only a small number of home owners. Therefore we cannot extend its results to all home owners of the region. So suggesting a hypothesis about whole region based on an unknown study that possibly include only few house owner, is not reasonable act and it is an indefensible strategy.

Even if the study which was mentioned here was a legitimate one, still we cannot accept the proposition. The second obstacle which comes to mind is related to new technologies for better solar heating. Here and in this proposal, it is assumed that this high-tech innovations are readily available to all house owners, but this is not a true assumption. Although there has been some new advance in field of solar heating, these new innovations are still in experimental stage, and have not been launched to market. Their final impact on house energy consumption is not clear, yet. It is possible that for high expenditures of their implication and maintenance, these technologies will not be economical, in long term. Hence we cannot trust them in planning energy programs.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first ones which cross the mind at first glance to the memo, they are by no means the only reasons available. Actually, there is another subtle point in this note which must be borne in mind, and that is the claim regarding three electric generating plants. Here, the author claims that for the past twenty years, these plants have always met the needs of region. However, it is a false statement. Frequent blackouts which happen year around, especially in warmer seasons and in time of rising energy consumptions, are signs of these plants disabilities. Hence, we can be sure about existing demand for more energy, a demand which available electric generating plants cannot respond.

To make a long story short, all of the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that the writer`s deduction cannot be taken as a sound one because, as it was shown in the paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. Cases like an unspecific study, or possible technological advance or false history regarding energy supply. The author is unable to substantiate his claims with proper reasons and proofs. Therefore, we cannot see them as excellent basses for making decisions about the necessity of constructing new electric generating plants.