The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument seems convincing, but it is contingent on certain assumptions like the no eligibility criteria or auditions for the incoming students is something that parents will consider while enrolling their children to a school, offering a wide range of courses is a more convincing factor than offering few courses with great depth and finally, the year of establishment of this school is not stated but the the number of mozart graduates that have become well-known and highly paid professionals is stated as a note worthy point.

Most parents consider it a prestige to enter their children in schools that have a stringent admission processes. It is often considered as a significant factor to judge a school's merit. The argument states as a good point that there is no audition or critera for the students who wish to enroll in their school, but having no criteria can invite students whose skills are below average, this can inturn reduce the overall quality of education in the school as professors tend to adapt according the students of his or her class. Hence, if this is the case, then the author's assumption that this school should be the first choice for parents considering to enroll their child in music, will be false.

The argument states that the school offers instruction in a wide range of styles, but it is not stated if any of these styles are taught with a well formed curriculum or if these courses had a high success rate in the past. This is significant as the success rate of a school is considered to be a more significant factor than the range of courses they offer as parents who consider enrolling their child in a music school, aims for them to become professional musicians. Hence, the assumption that a wide range of courses can attract the parents will be false, if the courses have no prominent success rate.

The argument also states that many graduates from the school have become well-known and highly paid professional musicians, but it is not certain if these students are from different batches or this number is obtained by considering all the batches. This is significant as if the number of students who became successfull is consistent every year, then the argument's assumption that this point will attract parents will be true but if this number is obtained from just some of the batches then the argument's will be false as then it may not be the school's efforts that made those students successful, it might be due to their skill that they had even before joining the school.

Also, the percentage of the students who became successful matters as if the percentage is low, it means that the number of students enrolled is not commensurate with the number of successful students. This indicates that the school's success rate is low. If this is the case, then the author's claim that many Mozart graduates have become professionals, will do more bad than good.

Hence, the above points needs to be elucidated in order to evaluate the argument.