The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the newspaper editorial concludes as illegal immigrants pose threats, they must be sent back to their country of origin. The argument is flawed.

The above argument does not talk about what is being done to keep the borders secure. Whether the check posts have the required number of soldiers or not. What if the soldiers are present after every ten metres but still illegal immigrants are able to enter the country. It can be done through tunnels or ships. As international borders in the oceans cannot be too secure, and people can enter through ships and boats, what is being done about it is not clearly asserted in the argument.

There are no reports giving the number of people who have entered in the past have endangered both national and economic identity. There is no mention of the what other threats they can pose. The argument is not divulging whether the citizens cause a bigger problem for economic or national identity or the immigrants cause it. In some cases it is possible that the immigrants bring in more ideas with which the countries economic situation is more stabilised. In this case if these people are returned back to their country, then it will be a loss for the former.

The argument solely states the autonomy of any country is based on the strength of borders. Then what about the other things that matter. It does not voice the problem the citizens of the can cause. It can happen that these people are taking bribes on the borders so as to let them come on. It can also happen in the cases of smuggling of drugs and other such commodities. There is no reference of other parameters on which the autonomy of the country lies upon.

Though it is really important that the borders are made secure, but there is no indication of how it can be done, which make the argument lie on unstated assumptions. It also needs to state the past reports of such instances where the immigrants have caused a problem. In what way these immigrants are