Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A formal education is a highly valued commodity in the modern era. It is a commodity deired by persepctive employers, significant others, family, and self. The question that begs to be asked is whether formal education is stifling our minds and spirits or does it set them free? While a formal education setting is more structured than most people would prefer in order to set their minds and spirits free, I believe that this setting can surely provide an atmosphere is which the mind and spirirt can be free.

While obtaining a formal education, the classroom setting, often has many guidelines and a strict curriculum that is followed in order to adhere to university policies, but also to ensure that the class does not veer from the topic which they are supposed to learning. Having said this, many classes allow for a vast amount freedom within the broad topic that is being taught. My senior year in college, I took History of the Reformation, this class obviously was strictly covering topics within the Reformation period, but when it came time to write our final papers, we were given the autonomy to choose our own paper subject. These topics had to be approved by the professor, but we were given freedom to choose any topic within the Reformation period. This choice allowed my fellow peers and myself to set our minds and spirits on a course of learning about a topic within the Reformation period that we felt akin to.

Furthermore, the acquistion of new information is a tool that can be used, in and of iteself, to set the mind and the spirit free of the worldly constraints that may be encountered in a formal education setting. It may be true that formal education imposes demarcations which can be stifling, but that does not mean that the power of knowledge and learning to set the mind and the spirit free are lost. The classroom provides students with useful information and knowledge that allows the student to explore a subject more deeply and inquisitively in their own fashion. In every class that I take, I gain new pieces of information and knowledge that never fail to make me curious enough to either research the topic further or apply the knowledge to my personal life. After taking Health Psychology and learning about high blood pressure and the factors that can cause and sustain it, I took that information and was able to apply it to my mother’s own case and help her manage her high blood pressure. The ability to apply knowledge that I learned in a classroom setting to my personal life, to help a loved one, is not an experience that I would call restraining, it is an experience that I felt was absolutely freeing.

However, I can’t argue with the fact that the formal education atmosphere can be stifling at times and does not always allow for the freedom that the mind and the spirit demand. The strict deadlines in formal education do always give the student the time to explore certain topics as their minds and spirits may feel are necessary. The curriculum may not always leave room for the student to explore topics in the subject matter in the manner that they feel paramoun to their educational freedom and the instructors may not nuture or support their students in such a way that their students feel able and encouraged to explore their mind and spirit’s desires freely. These are all issues that could be abd probbably will be encountered by any person during their formal education journey, but that does not mean they have to allow these constraints to hold back their extra-curricular pursuits of the mind and spirirt.

While the main goal of formal education is not to set its student’s monds and spirirts free, it ceratinly provides the tools and resources necessary to do so,. It may be true that formal education can be restrictive in nature, but the opportunity to be set free through the formal education process is avaialable, the student simply has to take advantage of the opprtunities when presented.