Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive, because it is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

This is a very sensitive issue and it is very difficult for us to define roles of Government. The author claims that it is necessary for our Government to ensure their major cities that they receive proper financial support to preserve nation's cultural traditions. First of all we need to clarify that which is the main source of cultural traditions- major cities or small towns?

There is no doubt that the development of major cities are necessary for the development of whole country. Major cities can provide better infrastructure and surroundings to preserve our arts and culture instead of small towns. One can find better education system, better job opportunities in major cities instead of small towns and also better museums. Many people from small villages like to move to major cities for better opportunities. Hence it is necessary for our Government to support major cities.

Major cities are becoming modern day by day and to find purest form of culture and traditions we need to look at small towns and villages. Let me clear my view by taking an example. In Delhi (capitol of India) one can find more number of Rock as well as Pop shows instead of Hindustani Classical musical concerts. Many people living in major cities like to celebrate festivals or special occasions by going to pubs or bars instead of going to Indian restaurant. People like to wear western clothes and they feel more comfortable in western clothes instead of traditional clothes like "saree, lehanga etc". In small towns one can find more people wearing traditional clothes and they live more traditionally compared to people living in major cities. According to me we cannot neglect small towns and villages and these cities should be treated equally.

Another point which I would like to discuss here is that it is necessary for our Government to increase awareness among people living in major cities on the important our culture. We can educate people by organizing street plays, casting more television serials based on our history and religious books, opening more number of arts and music institutes.

At the end I would like to conclude that traditions are backbone of a nation and they should be preserved. Major and minor cities should be treated in a similar way. It is also necessary to increase awareness among youth that how important is our culture and traditions.