Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Eddison, in order to fathom the problem of how to create a bulb made several attempts. But, did he stopped? No ! His research, his continued efforts, perseverance finally was rewarded with invention of bulb that lights our houses today. Sometimes, a research takes a lot of time to show results. It doesn't means that since, we are unable to get anything at the moment, we will not get anything after this moment also.So, the recommendation that Government should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear doesn't seems to be cogent. Simply prohibiting funding of any scientific research on this basis may avert some new inventions. Also, sometimes results of any research takes some time to come. As such a decision to curtail or stop funding doesn't seems to very prudent decision.

NASA, a famous space research agency every year spent millions of dollars in their research to understand the universe, its planets, galaxies and to find if life really exists or not. Still, today we don't have very clear answers to, do aliens exists? Does universe has only planets that we have discovered or there are many ? In Fact, we have numerous questions to which we don't have any clear answers. However, does this means that the money or fund devoted to the research activities carried out by NASA is futile ? In my opinion, answer is NO. Even tough, consequences are not clear now, even tough we don't have any concrete answers to these questions but still this continued efforts has led us to so many results that what surrounds us, existence of planets and in fact, several other things. Also, in the future, who knows that might these continued efforts can bring answers to all out questions which we don't know yet.

Furthermore, not every research can show results quickly. Sometimes, a research takes a lot of time to show its success. For instance, the research project carried out to launch satellite has several instances when it failed. Sometimes, because of a faulty programming or sometimes because of some of the assumptions that proved wrong. But all these failures are not true indicative of that the research is worthless and not good to continue. Instead, it brings out the fallacies in previous methods and leads to more refined process and solution. This continued effort essentially becomes the key to success. This is shown by the scientist in several situations where they initially failed in launching satellites or their space shuttle or missile. But with their continued struggle they were able to achieve success and today we see these satellite has solved so many problems like getting accurate location, mobile networks and many more.

In a nutshell, simply stopping funding of any project just because its consequences aren't clear is not a very wise decision. Government should understand that some research continues for year and then only show some propitious sign. A research requires continued effort. An invention or a success of any research involves many attempts of which mostly fails. Thus, given a chance to scientific research, it can unravel new mysteries and might give us something that can change the world.