Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Technology is the product of scientific innovation. Many inventions have come and gone each providing a solution to the problems of our society. Some have drastically elevated the standard of living and made our lives simpler. Just like without any practice a sportsperson cannot become the master of the sport, without any research a theory cannot be converted to the practical use. Therefore, scientific research is the future of the world and if funded by the government will help us achieve greater heights.

The scientific research leads to innovative technologies which have alleviated human lives. If study in the field of thermodynamics was obscured by the lack of government funding, today we wouldn’t have cars, boats or airplanes. These vehicles have enhanced the transportation system and gave us the luxury of travelling anywhere in the world with less effort. If the idea of space travel was rebuffed, then we would never have visited the moon and learnt about the astonishing characteristics of the space.

On the other hand, however, scientific research has also led to some unfavourable events in the world’s history. The invention of atomic energy as a substitute for conventional energy sources has documented a disastrous impact on some countries. This invention has led to the manufacture of the virulent substances like bombs which are used by some groups to terrorize the world. These kind of inventions would cause anyone to rethink the idea of supporting the scientific research with unprecedented information.

On the contrary, the research could also lead to some never before found exigent solutions to the various deadly diseases. Many diseases like AIDS and cancer are still without complete curable treatments. The government funds play crucial role in creation and testing of new drugs to eradicate the causes responsible for these diseases. Without proper funding the doctors have to rely on the mundane methods and expect for the best results.

Instead of focusing on the bizarre problems and wasting money on the ideas with no possible solutions, the governments should promote something where the future of the society banks on. Science is the solution for many remedies. Also, the funding of various research programs will attract many individuals and greatly enhance the work force of the country. Thus, any unprecedented scientific research plays a role of paramount importance in the improvement of the society and deserves to be funded.