Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The topic of free college has been in hot water. Most counties do not offer free college. Still, several countries do, such as Germany where all colleges and universities are now tuition free. Considering taxes are the primary source for governments to pay the free colleges and universities for all students, there are potential problems. On the other hand, free college provides educational opportunities for those who would otherwise not able to afford it, which consequently benefits the students and the society in a way. It is really hard to pick a side. The Governments need to make their decision after taking into account both the disadvantages and disadvantages.

Since governments pay for students with taxes, free college very often results in heavy tax burden. The government has many duties and functions which are fueled by taxes. A country has approximately a certain amount taxes in total, if the government decides to do something which requires a budget more than usual, it will either reduce the budget from other items or raise the tax burden. As a result, a nation’s overall success or the well-being of its people can be negatively affected. For example, Germany offers free college. According to the Organization of Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), it has the second highest tax burden of all OECD’s 34 countries—49.8% of average pretax earnings. People can take home only half of their earnings. Some of their own needs may fail to be met and result in dissatisfaction.

Moreover, high tax burden may be perilous to the nation considering free college vies for resources. Consequently, the resources for science and technology may be negatively affected due to the possible insufficient resources, which is decisive in the technology-heavy era. Considering the possible disadvantages, governments should not provide free college unless a nation has excessive resources to support it.

On the other hand, free college has its advertised benefits—allowing more students especially those who are economically disadvantaged to be educated. This can consequently promote a better future for both the students as individuals and the overall society. Cost is very often a reason for high school students not going on to college. According to the date from INSIDE HIGHER ED, less than half of the high school graduates of low-income families have enrolled in college in the United States. These students would be able to go to college if college were free.

With a college degree, graduates will have a better chance to get desired jobs. Besides, they will be able to pay taxes and contribute to the overall society. By contrast, without going to college, people might not be able to get their desired jobs and life or even result in unemployment, which consequently could lead to expanding the budget for welfare and even other unstable factors in the society. Thus, free college provides opportunities to more students which would benefit both them as individuals and the overall society.

Free college is a double bladed sword. Instead of complete free charge, governments could carry out some policies which could help economically disadvantaged students to go college and would not result in too much tax burden. For example, governments could offer students zero interest student loan and more scholarships. Helping more able students go to college will surely benefit the overall society. This issue should be taken seriously.