Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The point stated that Government should offer college and university education free to all the students is not a very prudent decision. Albeit, those who are really needy, like children who belongs to a poor family or children who have no one to take care of;in such cases Government must underwrite their education. However, making it free for all may lead to catastrophic consequences.

First, it is a well known fact that in order to understand the intricacies involved in any concept or to get a very pellucid view of the subject, practical classes are extremely necessary. If government stops taking fees from the students, then in order to purchase these expensive equipments for the laboratories they have to take out funds from the national treasure. This in turn may leads to a very deep effect on the economic condition. Buying all the equipments and their maintenance is a very costly affair. Infrastructure maintenance may proved to be a very expensive affair for the Government.

Second, quality of education may also be periled. Government, in order to properly maintain the different colleges, students with the intention to provide good education to students needs good teachers. If, the source of fees is limited by the amount of funds available in government treasures then teachers will be reluctant to join such colleges and schools with the fear that they may not get very good income or their income may sometimes be curtailed if some other crisis occurs and Government used the money there, where it is needed more. Thus, the standard of education may decrease as some good teachers may not join such colleges or schools.

Third, providing free education may lead to moral hazard. Students thinking that since education is free, so, may be more lax in their routine thinking that it doesn't cost them anything. Thus, the main point of providing free education to all will not be achieved in that case. Furthermore, if someone is investing some money somewhere then they surely work thinking that their money is not wasted and the intent of invest is achieved.

To sum up, giving free education in college and university is not a very wise decision. Instead, Government should provide it to those who really need. Simply giving it all can have various deleterious effects on the economic and also, it can bring down the education quality and may lead to moral hazards.