Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In devel

With the advent of mass media and Internet, there has been a huge increase in the amount of information accessible to a particular person. From news articles about the government's new budget policy, to a recipe involving mushrooms, the internet has all kinds of information available. But, with increase in information, the attention spans of people has become shorter, i.e., it is now difficult to focus on any one specific thing properly, and thus it doesn't produce a positive effect on humans.

In today's world, when people are browsing through the internet, or receiving information through any other media, it is imperative that they question, and ascertain the credibility of the information. A recent survey conducted by the Atlantic revealed that the number of websites posting fake news has increased dramatically in the past decade. These websites mimic the look and feel of authentic new websites like the Guardian and the New York Times, thus giving the impression that they too are genuine. Now, with the shorter attention spans, it is extremely difficult to find out whether a piece of information is authentic or not, unless an in-depth study of the news article/report is done, and the source of the information is verified effectively.

Further, when people "skim" through information and try to differentiate the important ones from the irrelevant ones, they tend to neglect the core purpose of the information, and simply rely on their perfunctory analysis of it. Say, for example, you are reading a newspaper, but this newspaper only contains the headlines, and no explanation of these headlines is given. How would a person interpret them? As the saying goes, " Little knowledge is very dangerous". Wrongly interpreting a statement or some data can have dire consequences. The financial adviser of a company, in his cursory analysis of the current stock market, might advice the COO to make an investment which may cause a huge loss to the company.

Such short attention spans can have an adverse impact on the reading habits of people. Going through academic texts, books, research papers, requires an in-depth study of the material, and also a background search of all the associated fields. None of the information here can be classified as irrelevant, and thus, for people used to jumping from one piece of information to another rapidly on the internet, this would not be an easy task. Rather, it will diminish their ability to comprehend any text effectively.

A person tends to bring out his/her hidden abilities when he/she is pushed out of his/her comfort zone. Thus, inundating a person with loads of information can force him/her to try and find new ways to process the information, and also extract the relevant portions. But this would have a positive impact only if the person knows which information is fake and which is authentic, the person fully comprehends the information that he/she reads, and it doesn't impact their reading habits concerned with books, and other media.