Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Tuition fees long time ago became contentions of different problems between public and private institutes, in and out-state-residents. Recently a popular idea that authorities should provide free educational cost for students came up. This thinking, however, would bring more detrimental effects rather than benefits when being implemented.

The most obvious drawback concerned is that the government must offset additional budgets of education by external resources. One feasible resolution for the tax to be increased definitely received negative feedback from citizens not willing to lavish the money on schooling. Cuts from other sources such as medical and public transports could harmfully influence the whole system. A decrease of lecturer’s income would clearly bring counter-productive influences when the professor could not engage in teaching with unsatisfactory salaries. Another shortcoming is that tuition funds are now playing an important role in endowments feeding research and development of instruction.

Another issue which might be encountered would be the lacks of motivation from students once they received unfair benefits. To be more specific, more and more graduated students would focus on post graduate study rather than spreading their CVs for a job to payback their loans. This fact which happened regularly nowadays in numerous countries having free educational system such as European nations is demonstrated by a high percentage of unemployed recent graduation. In addition, students must pay for their studies often spend more time and best efforts during instruction hours than ones must not.

Nonetheless, free of charge education would provide a number of benefits had been proved few places around the world. Northern Europe where inhabitants have the highest intellectual performances and human development index also has free education for all levels. It is unarguably beneficial for a country to have higher than average standard of citizens’ knowledge. Since education could be accessible by every citizen, decline of literacy rates subsequently raise the employment rate. Free education also supplies students with equal learning opportunities and hence poor could be admitted in prestigious schools regardless of economical status.

Generally speaking, disadvantages of free education’s implementation would outweigh the advantages brought back to us. Therefore, members of parliament should not introduce free education into the society.