Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The purpose of the government is to serve, protect, and lead the nation. It should be lean, efficient, and serve all tax payers equally. Bloating the already large and over-burdened system will only create more trouble in the long run. By implementing a system that provides a “free” service paid for ultimately by the tax payers to specific individuals and not to others is not only unfair, but boarders on classism. The government should not provide free tuition based on the students ability to afford it.

Creating a social welfare type system to cover university tuition would end up costing the taxes payers more than just the price per credit hour dictated by the school. If the government is going to step in and cover costs, they are going to have to end up covering all university related costs such as, room and board, lab fee’s, parking fee’s, books, school supplies, and possibly even food if the school accounts for dinning costs as a school fee. In addition to these unaccounted for factors, a new government department will need to be set up to facilitate this process. Someone will have to mediate between the schools, students, and treasury where these funds will come from, further increasing the cost to the tax payers yet again. The average tuition cost of ten to twenty thousand per student per degree could easily be compounded into well over one hundred thousand dollars of tax payer money per student with these additional cost factors. Even more so if the student is attending a private university with higher tuition costs.

In addition to these compounded costs of education, how would the government decide on who qualifies for the free tuition service? If it is based on income a line would need to be drawn to dictate who would and wouldn’t be able to receive this service. For example, if the free tuition was only provided to those making under twenty thousand dollars per year, then it would handicap those making slight over that. The student with a twenty one thousand dollar per year income now must indebt themselves for ten to thirty years to cover their school cost while their peers who only slightly less than them get by on a free ride. This could create new inequalities across the different income classes in addition to the one’s that already exist today. The government would be taking funds from all tax payer’s then only giving the benefit to one group vs distributing it to all citizens.

The second and third order effects of this policy would be too great to implement successfully. There are too many unaccounted for costs and effects for this policy to be a benefit to the tax payers. The governments duty is to serve all of it’s citizen’s equally and effectively and providing free tuition based on income does not even come close to fulfilling that duty.