Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

The issue presents the view that the governments should provide free education at the university level to students who are qualified to pursue the curriculum at a university, but aren't able to afford the costs involved due to a variety of reasons. This policy would certainly help bright students who aren't related to adults who can underwrite the costs involved and is a great investment tool in the students of a country with a potential to contribute back to the economy. The policy has the potential to raise the bar at the university level by making a lot more student eligible for higher education and can also act as an alternative implementation to some of the benefits provided under the current caste based reservation system.

First, the rising student loans are an indicator that there is a pool containing a substantial number of students who can't afford the university education and are forced to take out a loan to fund the expenses. This policy is certain to ease a good percentage of the burden by choosing the right students who qualify for the university aid from the government. Also, the policy would help people who aren't eligible for an education loan in the first place by allowing them to advance their learning in their areas of interest by pursuing education at the university level.

Second, the policy can be analysed from an investment perspective assuming that a higher number of students would transform into high quality researchers in different fields. This indirectly affects the economy by increasing the number of participants in the research community.

Third, the policy can be thought of as an alternative implementation of the extant benefits provided in certain countries under the caste based reservation systems. Instead of blindly providing benefits to students belonging to a certain ethnic group, the policy will pave the way for a level playing field where all performing students are eligible for free education.

As with any policy, it is possible that certain students might abuse the system and cheat their way to enjoy free education by faking their family financial status. However, this problem is only posed by a small percentage of students and can be tackled by implementing strict background verification before extending financial aid. Once the system to verify the financial credentials is in place, the policy is well positioned to bring sizeable returns on investment over time.

To conclude, the free education policy can definitely help economically underprivileged students, provide undifferentiated access to financial aid to students of all castes and boost the economic status of a country by producing a higher number of qualified researchers.