Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The policy put forward by the author is interesting and resonates with my own thought process. Education is a fundamental right of every individual, often there are situation where an academically talented individual has to give up his education because of rising tution fees of university graduate and undergraduate programs. In my view the policy of free education to everyone, if implemented will proof beneficial no only to a student who cannot afford tutuion fees but also to the growth of economy of the country.

Education and Research are important back bone of the any countries economy, but often there has been a decilne in the number of students taking up graduate studies like PhD because of lack of funding and high tution fees. For example, A student pursuing a Master of Science program in university, after completing his graduate program often plans to do a job rather than pursuing PhD even if he has the interest and aptitude to carryout world class research, the reason behind this is obvious, the student has already taken a loan to pursue his Master's program to cope up with his tution fees and now he has to repay the same. Obviously he cannot take another loan before repaying the previous. Even if the there is a possibility of funding and scholarship for carrying out his research, it is often limited and competitive.

Onemore side of the policy is, if the university provides the education for free to everyone, how the university is going to cope up with their own expenses?. The university has lot of expenses to take care of like operating costs, maintainence costs etc. One problem which may arise due to no tution fees scheme is that universities will be short of funds. No University can survive on solely government funding.