Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

The proponents of the tuition free education for those who cannot pay the tuition raise this question to government: Why should public universities demand money from those who cannot afford to pay for their tuition? In what follows the discussion would be dedicated to why tuition is necessary and the government cannot be responsible for all people who cannot afford to pay the tuition.

To begin with, there are several other demanding parts that the government should patronage, and making a free university for all those who cannot afford to pay can be financially unjustifiable. Police, military, public health and so on are other parts that equally calls for the government consideration. Failing in providing money for each of these places can result in a catastrophe. Furthermore, making the tuition free might compromise the quality of the education. In countries with large populations of poor people, if the government shoulder all the tuition for learning of each student in universities _which usually takes between four to eight years_ the quality of education be compromised to compensate the quantity of the demands. Laboratory, sport facilities, and so many other items might left ill-equipped as the quantity of the demands are so high which cannot be met with a decent education.

Secondly, being admitted to universities and having no money does not legitimate an individual to be funded or be helped unless he or she shows levels of talent and diligence. Government money is from the society and thus any investment should return the benefits to the society. I have seen many who go to universities merely to get a prestige and they do not look at it to fulfill a role in their society, and many drop out after some years. Therefore, instead of dispersing money to all that are not able to afford, we can reap the benefits when any aim concentrates on the students whose horizon involves fulfilling roles in their society, are talented and are diligent toward their goal.

Finally, to answer the question in the introduction I say we make people able to pay, then we demand the tuition from them. Governments can make a loan-based education that the position of government does not compromise. Furthermore, these funds should be dedicated to those who show talents and seriousness in pursuing their field of study. With such a policy, we get close to a win-win situation that both talented and serious students have qualified education and government position is not compromised.

In short, as discussed, providing a free-tuition university for all that cannot afford the tuition, is not a reasonable act. A decent help of the government, which is in the form of loans for the talented and diligent students makes more sense.