Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Restriction is what slowers the pace of anything, hence restrictions will hamper researchers leading demotivation among the researchers. Researches always lead to new innovations, and since it is new, no authority can possibly know ahead of time what could be the result of the research, therefore does not qualify to impose any restriction on researches.

First of all, restriction are nothing but barrios, which basically hampers the progress and on the other hand researchers are free thinkers and wants to live a life of no restrictions even in their professional life, as this provides them the opportunity to come up with new innovative ideas. So restriction on the scientific research and development will tend to demotivate researchers, causing reduced productivity.

If we consider the nuclear power, no doubt they are developed after deliberate research and has led to creation of nuclear warheads affecting a huge number of people during the wars but, that is just one instance where the new idea was utilized in a wrong way, today nuclear power plants working on the likely similar process is powering most of the nation. So if the authority would have banned the research at its grass root level, the most valuable fuel would have been completely depleted by today. Therefore instead of restricting research, its use can be restricted to minimise possible risk.

Finally, since none, other than the researcher, can foretell what the research can finally create, restricting on some hypothetical research is meaningless and even not effective. For example, if a restriction are laid on the production of effective guns and ammunitions, but even then someone may come up with a completely different product, may be accidently (say something similar to grenade) that is more effective than the previously used versions. Research normally plays around thing which are not at all known previously and hence the products can be impressive as well as unpredictable.

Therefore, being a researcher, what I believe is that there should not be any restriction for scientific research and development, as new innovations are required to keep up with the ever-growing world, and the restriction might hamper the pace.