Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Twenty first century is the place of research and development in every field. We are largely dependent on the development of the tools and devices which we use on a regular basis. If there would be no scientific research there would be no mobile phones, computers, aero planes and many more without which we cannot assume our life in the current scenario. Scientific research has helped us a lot in many ways.

On the first facet, we can analyze that how we are surrounded by the development of the science. One cannot imagine a world without mobile phone which help us interact with the friends and relatives sitting in any part of the world, without internet which help us to follow latest trends going on in the world, help us connect people in mere click of buttons, let us send emails, everything which we need is now available on internet. Research and development in the field of medicine has increased out life expectancy, it has lead us to live a stronger and better life. Diseases which we were not able to cure in nineteenth or twentieth century are now curable. Many devices has been developed which help us cure us while sitting at our home. Development in the field of transport has decreased our time to travel from one place to another and also in luxurious way. Aero planes have decreased the time to travel with a huge ratio. In order to substantiate we can examine the time taken to travel from Kashmir to Kanyakumari, earlier it took around three to four days to travel but with the introduction of planes it has reduced to around 3 to 4 hours. Therefore, scientific research in such fields has helped us a lot.

However, this is not always the case. If we go deep down the statement, scientific development in field like nuclear research has led to vast amount of destruction. To make it apparent, I would like to cite an example of Hiroshima and Nagasaki which were totally destroyed in the Second World War with the help of the atom bomb. Research and development in the field of battle has also increased leading to intense environment. Also development in the field of medicine is also destroying us as many drugs has been developed which slowly and slowly lead us to death or make us reliable on them resulting in boom in the market of drugs.

In crux, I concede that ban should not be imposed on the improvements which help us to live a better life and government should properly scrutinize the fields and labs in which development is going on properly impose ban on research which will harm the society.