Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Restrictions on scientific research is certainly a hot topic. Given the ever growing possibilities that science and technology offer us, it is impossible that controversy regarding whether science should be constrained by laws does not come up. It is true that in some promising cases, such as stem cell research, too conservative governments have hindered progress; however, these are just anecdotic when compared to the many times uncontrolled scientists have provoked great trouble.

First of all, there are many examples where unrestrained scientists have acted in unethical ways, leading to some of the most horrendous events in human history. World War II is one terrible but important example; millions of people were subject to cruel experiments, such as direct administration of gasoline into their hearts. Moreover, the Tuskegee experiment was another ethics-lacking study, in which a community of Afroamerican people was administered heavy metal based drugs to treat syphilis; this would be a scandal on its own, due to its racist connotations and the flagrant violation of the principle primun non nocere that should be the main rule to be followed by every researcher, but is further aggravated by the fact than penicillin, an innocuous and effective treatment for the disease, had already been discovered.

Furthermore, scientific research comes at a great cost in both money and jobs. It is certainly hard to justify the expenditure of thousands of millions of dollars on the Large Hadron Collider when there are starving communities in the third world that could use all that money to greatly improve their living conditions. Is it really a priority to discover an infinitesimally small particle just for the sake of it, and not to feed every hungry child? Those funds that are used in paradoxically deep, but pragmatically superfluous, research should definitively be better spent.

In addition, it is also important to note that scientists, even if sometimes regarded as the acumen of society, as impartial, wisdom seekers, can also be moved by their own selfish interests. In many cases scientific articles have been removed from journals because they have been shown to be false fabricated, only submitted in order to gaining fame in the scientific community. Bearing this in mind, that scientists are also human and subject to the same perversions as every other layman, they should never be left uncontrolled.

However, there are some examples where an overly tight legislation has proved to be a hurdle to scientific research. Stem cell research might be the most widely known case in which this has happened; too much control has lead to an underdevelopment of a potentially paradigm changing technology.

In conclusion, it is true that sometimes science would work better if left on its own. However, the myriad of times where scientists have been proven to be unreliable, unethical and all in all, deeply human, should be enough to never let them fully unleashed, as they might wreak havoc.