The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The greatness of an individual essentially depends on the person’s talent; however, often this talent is overlooked by their contemporaries for many reasons. As humans, we have a tendency to not appreciate the things we have while we have them. Often artists, musicians, even teachers and doctors who are worthy or recognition for their craft and hard work go unnoticed because we take them for granted or because there is too much competition to give recognition when it’s deserved. With this said, the greatness of an individual can only be decided by those who live after them, because only they are able to have an impartial decision towards the individual’s work.

Competition is a primary reason why talent so often goes unnoticed by those present during that time and era. Take, for example, the work of past artists such as Beethoven and Picasso. Although both artists excelled at very different crafts, one in music and the other in art, they were both controversial artists of their time. Often their talent wasn’t as recognized or given as much credit as it should have been granted, because other artists were usually competing and attempting to outdo them in their craft. Because of this many critics of their time, although appreciated their talent, focused more on creating a comparison between the artist and someone else. Today, we look back at the talents of Beethoven, Picasso, and other artists of past times and appreciate their art with equitable opinions. The fear of talent going unnoticed is one that exists even in the people of our time today. Often, we see writers, musicians, and educators working hard to be the best at what they do. However, their hard work goes unnoticed because we may see others doing the same thing or someone else we believe is doing it “better.”

Furthermore, unawareness is also a large part of the reason why talent and hard work is unappreciated. This is the case for many teachers who teach at low-income schools. We can easily say these teachers face challenges that are very different from the ones who teach at regular public schools, merely because of the students they are teaching. These students come from families that are not well off and have grown up in very different environments, not having the same luxuries as those in better school districts. These teachers are often not recognized for the difference they make in their community because not everyone knows about it or has simply not paid attention. Later, when the teacher has retired or is no longer a part of the education system, is when people may notice what a big difference the person made and what an essential asset they were to the school. Many musicians will face the same challenges when they are trying to get noticed for music they have written or composed. Musicians will try day and night for any production company to give them a chance, but it is one failed attempt after another, because there are others who are capable of coming out with better music.

Of course, it is true this is not always the case. Musicians, educators, artists and anyone else who excels at their craft is not always unnoticed. There are times when a person becomes well known and is praised for the work they have created or the field they have mastered in. In past times, and even today we see many people receiving accolades for the work they have put out into the world.

In conclusion, the greatness of an individual essentially depends on the person’s ability to excel at their craft. Impartial recognition is received by those not looking to compete or do better than the other person which usually occurs during a time outside of the individuals generation.