The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Can we say that the greatness of individuals cannot be assessed by the contemporaries but only by descendants who live after their death? Of course, some great minds of human history were neglected by their contemporaries but rediscovered after they passed away. However, I cannot agree with the given statement asserting that all individuals can only be evaluated properly once they die for the following reasons.

First of all, it is too extreme that the argument excludes any possibility of assessing one’s greatness by the contemporaries. Although it may not be as thorough as taking one’s whole life once he or she passes away, it is still possible to evaluate one’s achievements and exploits. The current President of United Sates President, Barack Obama, has been not only lauded and praised for his accomplishments—in diplomacy and condoling American citizens whenever there was a terror—but also assessed in different perspective by many critics. Admittedly, it is difficult to know whether or not he would be still lauded the same way when he passes away. However, it is still possible to assess his greatness in his small and big achievements, and these evaluations would be valid as an attitude of the contemporaries.

Secondly, the evaluation of one’s greatness by contemporaries is not only just possible, but it could be even more valuable and correct. When assessing one’s achievement, especially which has influenced many people’s lives, it would be the voice of who are directly affected. For example, when examining the impact of Steve Jobs on the public, it would be those who were directly under his impact by using his products with their hands than who can only see the mockups and pictures of the products who can better assess his greatness. Thus, in some cases, contemporaries can make a better assessment of the greatness of an individual with his or her achievements.

Of course, some may still argue that we can truly understand one’s genius only after his or her death, since it is the only way to browse the whole life. This seems convincing when we think about some great-minded people who were disregarded by their contemporaries, such as Van Gogh and F. Goya. However, it also needs to be pointed out that people, whether or not they are born while or after the great people, still remain subjective when it comes to an evaluation. Although the great painters, Van Gogh and F. Goya, are reassessed after they have passed away, it is still possible that the critics—human beings—have made still biased and erratic decisions about their artistic virtuosity. Therefore, it is difficult to say that the greatness of individuals can surely be properly evaluated once they pass away.

To sum, despite the fact that there are a few cases that individuals received adequate attention and assessment of their achievement after their death, I tend to disagree that those cases can be generalized for any individual. The greatness of people can still be evaluated by their contemporaries, and even better when the public is directly affected by the accomplishment of the individual.