The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Greatness of a person is measured by his deeds. The topic says that the greatness of the individual can be decided only by those who are born after them; The contemporaries of the individual cannot decide the greatness of the person. But this statement does not seem to be plausible in every case. The greatness of the person can be decided by the contemporaries as well. Various evidences can be marked where contemporary of a person often decide greatness.

Today in modern world don't we consider the people like President of America- Barack Obama, inventor of Facebook-Mark Zukersburg, Business typhoon of India-Ratan tata great? Many more examples can be stated of the great individuals in the modern era who are great and magnanimous personalities. The great people serves as the mentors for many for the contemporaries like us. For example, great scientist A.P.J Abdul kalam was great person when was alive and still remain a great person in the future. Our deeds commensurate our greatness. If our deeds are great and benefactor to the society we ultimately become great personality .Our contemporaries will surely recognize our greatness. Mahatma Gandhi - father of nation India, was a great person during his period as well in today's period. His greatness was recognized by the people who lived with him during his period as well as today.

Perhaps, there are many cases where the greatness of a person was decided by the people who lived after them but not by there contemporaries. For example, Copernicus claimed first time in the history that earth is not the center of the universe. He tried to break the heresy which believed that earth is the center of the universe. His discovery criticized. He was banned by parochial church for his discovery which broke the heresy. But importance of his discovery is lauded today and serves as a great milestone in space science. There is a famous story of a old farmer who was sowing a seeds of a mango tree in his field. The farmer was questioned by his grandson that why is he sowing the seeds of mango tree in his old age even when he is not going to be able to taste the delicious mangoes of the tree. The farmer replied, the next generation will surely be thankful to me when they will relish the delicious mangoes. The moral of the story is if we do good deeds today we will be praised by the next generation.

To sum up, our greatness can be decided by our contemporaries as well as people who live after us if our work and deeds are remarkable. It's not always the case that our contemporaries fails to decide our greatness. Various factors like society , culture and fate plays major role in determining our greatness. People who were not great during their era are considered great today. While some historical people were considered great by there contemporaries and remain to be great even today.