Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident

The author claims that by investing in high quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller stakers will greatly reduce their risk of being injured in an accident. To support this conclusion he cites various evidences given by hospital statistics. Although these evidences appear to bolster the argument at first sight but meticulous analysis show otherwise. The author's assumptions fails to justify the conclusion due to following reasons;

Firstly, the author has made this conclusion on the basis of the statistic data provided by hospital regarging the people who go to emergency ward after the accident. According to that report 75 percent of those had accidents in parking lots and streets were not wearing protective clothes. As in the report only percentage is given not the total number of people from which this percentage is derived. By just merely looking at the percentage we cannot say that government should go for investing in protective equipment.

Secondly, the data was collected only from the accidents occured in street and parking lots that does not repersent the whole data of the accidents occured at all the other places. Moreover, it is not given that in which area of the country/state the data is taken from, there might be possibilty the area from which the data is collected accidents occur more.

Lastly but not the least, the cause of the accidents was not provide. It is plaussible that more accidents occur because of the negligence of the drivers or may be due to less appropriateness of the roller skaters material. Other cause of accidents may be over populated area, by this point of view government should heed towards these matters more.

In sum, the author needs to provide more specific data like the number of people from which percentage is taken, real cause of the roller skaters accidents etc. Without conforming these evidences one cannot say that government should go for investing more in high quality protective equipment.