imagination vs. Knowledge (Position with Counterarguments)

In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is believed that being creative is more important than being knowledgeable. Although we can let our imagination go wild, while making virtual things into visual, knowledge becomes critical during development. Without knowledge, the imagination will difficult to be realized and still belong to imagination.

It is true that human always dreams of something impossible. After observing the aerodynamics of birds and their ability to fly, Wright brothers invented the first human-manipulated flying machine. It sounds piece of cake, however, it involves a great amount of knowledge of aerodynamics and mathematics. Needless to say, the two brothers failed many times at the beginning because of the insufficient understanding of the flying mechanism. Therefore, without sufficient knowledge, it is impossible for them to exhibit such an innovation.

Similarly, art has the inherence of being creative. Many modern works are abstract and complicated. They seems nonsense and confusing to ordinary people, however, from the artist’s point of view, each lines or curves in the paintings are related to different style of aesthetics. In order to perform a magnificent artistic works, those principles have to be followed and be admired by other artists. Thus, despite the fact that most of the sculptures or paintings are created via imagination, they cannot convert into marvelous works of art if there is no knowledge of how to embellish and polish them.

To sum up, without the help of academic knowledge, dreams will be difficult to become true.