"Important truths begin as outrageous, or at least uncomfortable, attacks upon the accepted wisdom of the time."

This is usually the case, but a statement, if presented correctly with the right proofs and results may be accepted with whole herted regard by the society. However, more often than not, according to the humane nature, one is bound to get rigid, once a thought is set. The beleifs of a person are diifficult to break. Someone brings an idea which can be true but contradicts one's dogmas; much opposition is bound to occur. It is really an inevitabe truth.

As in the old days Copernicus was faced with outright blasts of rage and fear when he had proposed his theory to the world. It was beleived, for a long-time, that the sun revolved around the earth. The Church was very rigid about it and wasn't in any position to accept any other theory, thinking that it will make the people loose faith. Around that time Copernicus, came out with a theory that it was the other way round. He performed experiments, verified it with results and tried to convince people what was true. The result was that he was banished by the church and was forced to live as an outcast. No one was ready to accept this and he was even humiliated. Though Copernicus had asserted the fact but Gallileo was the one who made people accept the fact.

A similar kind of incidence had ocuured when it was proposed the earth was round. People had always hypothesised that the earth was flat regardless of having any proof. It was always assumed that if you kept moving in one direction you would reach the edge of the earth where you would fall off. This particular idea was also faced with anger from the masses. A guy litreally had to travel the world to reach the same point to make people accept the fact that the earth was round.

In most cases people are afraid to accept the contrary fact, and they just beleive what their instinct tells them, and not exploring the other side. The practice of Sati, in ancient India was also like one of these. If a lady's husband died, then the lady was forced to sit in a holy fire and die. This was a practice which was followed blindly, irrespective of the consequences. They were enforced by the so called "erudite gurus" who initiated the practice. To abolish this practice, it took a lot of time and effort.

The fact is that the beleifs and dogmas are necessary for a persons faith and motivation to sustain. Some beleifs even help to give people hope for their well being. Nevertheless, a person should always remain open-minded and should readily, with apposite proofs accept the contrary too. I would like end it by effectively quoting Calvin Coodge (30th U.S. President) "The world is full of educated derelicts".