“An increased number of laws or rules, ironically leads to a diminished sense of morality and impoverished relations

among people.”

The speaker's claim that a rise in number of laws would lead to a fall in morality and distance the relationship among people is justifiable. An increase in crime has lead to the establishment of many rules. But this has not served to instill a greater sense of morality in people or maintain the relationship among people. Hence, I completely agree with the speaker.

Firstly, let us consider the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia which is well known for the strict and numerous rules it imposes. The country restricts the citizens on a personal and social level. The country bans socializing between sexes and only allows for family gatherings in public places. This inhibits healthy relationships between genders and can bring forth lewd behaviours. The country also places females as inferior before law which is taken advantage of by many. Thus an increase in the laws does not guarantee its citizens to follow moral values.

Secondly, even though numerous laws against piracy have been put forward on a global scale, the problem is still existant and on the rise. Online piracy is so common nowadays, that it is no more considered to be illicit. It is human nature to oppose rather than comply. The increased number of laws has only provided incentive for criminal minds to break them. Let us also consider a university which is strict in its rules. This cultivates a rebellious nature in students and leads them down the path of self-destruction. This will also lead to wrongful influence on other people and lead to noxious relations. However, if the rules were lenient, it allows for the students to develop the sense of right and wrong on their own. This distinction of right on wrong which is not forced, will assist them in their future life.

Thirdly, the glut of laws that exists within the society will inculcate a fear of the law within some people. A recent incident in India, where bystanders refused to aid the victims of accident case is proof for the fear of law. The numerous rules and procedures that comes along with an accident case hinders people from lending a helping hand in a near-death situation. This increase of laws has motivated inhumane actions. Additionally, rules of privacy has now been strengthened to the extent that a husband can sue his wife for infringement of privacy. Such unreasonable laws hamper growth of relationships.

To sum up, rules are made to maintain peace in the society. However, an abundance of laws can suffocate the citizens and encourage them to breach the law or instill an aversion to law. This leads to immoral behaviour and diminishes healthy relations among people.