INTERPERSONAL COMMUNICATION IN HAROLD PINTER'S DRAMA

Interpersonal communication is critical in our daily lives and plays a vital role in establishing social interactions among people. Whenever we engage in communication with others, we seek to gain some information about them, exchange ideas or engage in a friendly conversation. Thus, the primary role of communication is to accurately convey an idea or emotion that reflects our inner thoughts. Each communication primarily involves a code or tool through which communication is materialized. The most conventional one being language which contributes to the facilitation of social interaction.

According to linguists, communication remains a complex phenomenon: it requires an aptitude for symbolism and abstraction that only Man is capable of producing and absorbing. Yet, regardless of the quantity and quality of research that has been made in the field of communication, one issue remains far from being finalized: the definition of communication. Specialized scholars seem to agree on the mechanisms that govern communication, but they are unable to adhere to a specific definition of communication.

In his book Introduction to Communication Studies, John Fiske distinguishes between the two prominent schools in the field of communication studies: the process school and the semiotic school. The first school is interested in the study of the transmission of messages whereas the second school is immersed in researching the generation of meaning. It is noteworthy that both schools share the same founding principle that communication is a social behavior.

According to John Fiske, the process school “sees communication as the transmission of messages…It sees communication as a process by which one person affects the behavior or the state of mind of another…This school tends to talk in terms of communication failure.” Then the author talks about the semiotic school: “The second school sees communication as the production and exchange of meanings…It uses terms like signification, and does not consider misunderstanding to be necessarily an evidence of communication failure.”

Basically, linguists recognize that communication involves three major components: an addresser (speaker or person who attempts to convey a message), an addressee (interlocutor or audience: the person to whom the message is conveyed) and a message (the spoken or written speech that is being conveyed). To initiate a conversation (contact), the addresser uses a code, most commonly language, to produce his message. This implies a correlation between language (speech) and communication. In fact, communication is in itself but one of the major functions of language as Marina Yaguello points out: The goal of language is to communicate. But for humans communicating is not only a mere transmission of messages. We often speak to say nothing meaningful or we say the opposite of what we really had in mind.

Accordingly, language is considered as the conventional medium of communication not only in ordinary human intercourse but also in conventional drama. In the latter, the function of language is to link the dramatis personae as well as the audience in a logical and intelligible communicative experience. 4