Issue Essay - GRE

All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I would disagree with the above statement because it devalues the expertise and knowledge that the outside consultants have. The work of a consultant involves being an expert in a particular area, so much so that the sole purpose of their job is to give advice to companies in that said field. Consultants are trained professionals. Before they can obtain a consulting position, they have to have reached a particular degree in education (i.e. Masters or above) and have a large amount of real-life experience within their field of work outside of consulting (more than 5 years working in the field). Consultants are often much older, more experienced members of the professional world that have stopped working in the field themselves to pass down their knowledge to the younger generation or either highly ranked professional of their field. These consultants have massive amounts of knowledge and probably have experienced the same efficiency errors that the inquiring company has. Through their experience, consultants can provide an abundance of guidance. Deeming consultants unnecessary would totally disregard the value that they could provide for a company.

The part of the statement that is true is the value of the employees. For a company to be as efficient as possible, it must take into account the opinions and suggestions from those who work their on a daily basis. For if the changes to the company do not benefit those who work for the company, it will not benefit the company as a whole.

The use of consulting does not disagree with this. In fact, the process of consulting heavily involves the employees.

The statement suggests that consultants disregard the employees completely. But in actuality, consultant is very hands on with the company they are working with. The reason why the statement is false is because the statement disregards the process in which consulting work flows. Consultants do not walk into a company and assume they know everything about it and force the company to listen to guidance. Their goal is to create an efficiency plan through collaboration. Before any guidance is given, consultants must study and observe how the company runs. They usually do this by interviewing current employees and going through the day-to-day routines. They take their observations and what they learned from the employees and create an action plan of goals and actions that they would suggest to become more efficient. This statement is not true just because of their skewed understanding of consultants, but also because the statement does not fully acknowledge the process of consulting. Part of the work of a consultant is to "listen to the employees". The entire process of using consultants to suggest ways for a company to operate more efficiently stems from listening to employees and moves forward from the thoughts and suggest of them as well.

All in all, when it comes to improving a company, consulting work can be very valuable in the growth of a company.