Issue Essay:-People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The statement that people who makes decisions based on emotions and later justify those decisions with logic are poor decision makers is a compelling one. I agree mostly with the statement but it is one that I cannot fully endorse without qualification due to it's 'all or nothing' approach in totally disregarding everyone who makes decision on the basis of emotion as poor decision makers.

Emotion usually gets the better of sound decision and clouds judgement, so it is usually unwise to based a decision solely on emotions. One example that lives vividly in the mind's of many is the decision of the Bush administration to invade Iraq after the 911 incident. Pressured by lobbyists and the frustration and anger of the general public to strike back at Osama, George Bush made the hasty decision to send troops to Iraq and started a war. It was a rash decision that costs the lives of many American soldiers and wasted billions of dollars in the ensuing years. The administration later came out to justify their decision of starting the war with reasonings such as the evidence that Osama's regime had weapons of mass destruction. The claim is widely disputed and critics claim that is used mainly to distract from the main point that it was a poor decision to invade Iraq.

However said, some decisions outcome are not so clear cut or have binary results, so at times the only good measure of making decision is based on emotion. For example, a parent might be completely outraged if they find out that their kids have started smoking. A parent might be reprimand their children and tell them off for their actions because of emotions. Some might argue that the logical thing to do is to stop giving the child allowances so that they will not have the money to purchase cigarettes. However, the parents decision to scold their children is done out of love of their children and hoping that they will learn from their mistakes.

In conclusion, we can see for most cases, people who makes decision based on emotion and justifying those decisions with logic later are poor decision makers. However, it is easy to criticise someone for making a hasty decision based on emotion that turned out to the wrong decision due to the power of hindsight. Therefore, the truth to the statement is limited.