Issue Essay:-People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Emotion is an inherent part of our condition: our ability to acknowledge, accept and react to emotional indicators is distinctly human. As Descartes famously conceded, "I think, therefore I am". Without our ability to assess and act on our emotions we would be less human and more robotic, with cost-benefit analysis as the only decider of how to act. While decisions that are made based on emotion alone might often lead to poor decision making, it is likely that emotional decisions may yield more sensitive, conscientious results than a decision arrived at purely through deductive logic. This is for several reasons. First, emotions are primal instincts and reliable indicators of what we truly believe is right or wrong, regardless of the capacity of logistical reason in capturing this. Second, decisions based on logic alone may neglect our ability to exercise emotional intelligence and would likely yield hurtful, albeit reasoned, results.

Humans have basic instincts that are triggered in situations where we have to make quick decisions. These primal survival instincts are informed by our emotional capabilities, including fear, guilt, sadness and joy. For example, fear is the emotion that catalyses the decision to remain stationary when presented with a physical threat. In a scenario where an armed assailant threatens someone, it is likely that fear will kick in and the person will give in and not fight. Logic would tell the individual to flee, or perhaps fight, but the emotional reaction that takes precedence is what initially drives the decision. It is difficult to articulate this reaction through logic, as reason often falls short when attempting to define our rash emotionally driven actions. However, this is not to say that the person made a poor decision. Simply because weak inductive logic like "I couldn't help it" doesn't justify the action does not indicate a poor decision. Rather, it just suggests that the decision was more primal and instinctual, and therefore harder to define. This could also explain moments of superhuman strength, such as the proverbial rumour of mothers being able to lift heavy cars to save a trapped child. No logic could explain or justify this, but emotional statements such as "it was instinct" does not do the decision justice.

The ability to anticipate and react to other people's emotional signals is another distinctly human facet. This emotional intelligence is what prevents us from making hurtful, harmful decisions and drives us to act in accordance to social norms and appease our humanity. Decisions arrived at through logic alone would neglect to account for these emotional signals in the pursuit of the logical, least cost action. For example, in a case where an employee is being made redundant by a boss, it is logical for the boss to take the least-time consuming route with a laconic, brief interaction like a text to say "You're a bad worker and I can't afford you." However this is hurtful and fails to account for the emotional impact that it would have upon the other individual. An emotionally driven interaction that is kinder and more sensitive to their emotions would yield a better result despite being less logically sound. For instance it might be better for the boss to take some time out of their day to sit with the employee and explain why they cannot afford them, and to perhaps write out a letter of recommendation to soften the blow. While it may seem less logical and harder to justify in the long term, the emotionally conscious decision is the better decision in this scenario as it yields a more positive result for both parties. For example, it might make little logical sense for a state to take in more refugees given the cost, impact on existing jobs, housing markets and economy, but it is the more humane and emotionally-sensitive decision to do so. This is because we also need to take into account the risk and danger to the other party, and how they would be affected by our decisions. Logic alone would probably derive less costly, but more selfish outcomes, and as such it is not necessarily the best indicator of good decision making.

Regardless of whether emotionally driven actions yield the best result in terms of cost and benefit, emotional actions are likely to yield more sensitive and instinctual actions. It is harder to logically justify emotional decisions in the aftermath but this is not necessarily an indicator of bad decision making.