"It is possible to pass laws that control or place limits on people's behavior, but legislation cannot reform human nature. Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts and minds."

The sole purpose of law and order exist is to create a balance in the society. They act as a deterrent to crime. Suppose a person did attempt crime, he will surely be punished and will not attempt the same in the future. He has changed after the punishment, since he will not think of doing it second time. However, it surely depends upon the how stringent the laws are.

Consider a example of rape, when a person knows, that he will be seriously punished for this crime, he will avoid doing it. Even though, he could not control himself and did the crime, he will surely be punished in a severe way. In Singapore, punishment for rape is death penalty. Nobody can gets it way out, the laws are that stringent. But, consider the example of a country where a person can play with system and know how to find its way out of any crime. Even though laws exist, it will not change that person. So all in all, laws can change a person and they will act as a deterrent to crime, if they are stringent enough and nobody gets its way out, whether he is poor or rich.

Consider an example of a country where laws were not stringent enough, and a rich person attempted a crime and got his way his way out without receiving any punishment. Now, he knows he can get his way out whenever he wants, and will attempt the same thing again and again. If he had been stopped the first time he attempted the crime, he would not have done it second time. So, laws should be equal for all and should make sure nobody get its way out.

Laws are meant to keep society in check and should be equal for all, if they are not equal we have seen how dangerous it can be. Thus, laws will act as a deterrent before attempts of any crime and will change the person after the punishment, since he will not do the same second time, only if they are stringent enough.